盖茨碳纤维驱动

获取常见问答

您有疑问吗?我们一定有您要的答案。您可查看以下常见问题和答案。如果没有您想要了解的内容,请联系我们!

可用性

您可通过当地自行车门店以及QBP和BTI购买碳纤维驱动产品。您还可按照以下方式直接联系我们:
北美和南美:carbondrive@gates.com
其它地区请联系:info@carbondrive.net

盖茨公司不建议对车架进行改装,因为这样会使车架制造商的质保失效,可能导致人员伤亡。 皮带断裂后不能重新连接,因此对于标准后三角,需要将皮带穿过车架。对皮带进行安装和张力调整时也需要调节皮带。因此,应使用专门设计的车架。

骑行前

采用内变速花鼓、变速箱和多速五通即可实现变速功能。 Shimano、SRAM、Rohloff、enviolo、Sturmey Archer和其它公司可提供产品。

洁净 - 无需润滑,即不存在油腻的污垢,有助于保持手部、衣物和儿童的清洁。 
顺畅 - 碳纤维驱动系统和链条不同,不存在金属与金属之间的接触,从而用户可亲身感受到的无与伦比的顺畅骑行。
无噪音 - 碳纤维驱动皮带在多数骑行环境中零噪音。
更轻便 - 整个系统、2齿盘和皮带,重量低于常见的链条。
无划痕 - 碳纤维驱动皮带不会像链条一样使用一段时间后出现划痕。也就是说,无需因划痕重新张紧或更换皮带。 
自动清洁 - 专利产品CenterTrack和MudPort轮廓,专为清除泥浆、污垢、雪渣和其它碎屑而设计,以满足自行车在恶劣环境下的骑行需求。
寿命长 - 测试显示,碳纤维驱动皮带的使用寿命是链条的两倍多。
效能稳定 - 碳纤维驱动皮带在整个驱动系统的生命周期中可保持稳定。相反,链条的效能会受到磨损和污垢的影响而下降。

由于皮带断裂后不能复原重新连接,因此盖茨碳纤维驱动系统需要与之匹配的车架。安装皮带时,需调整中心距产生合适的张力,可以通过调节水平勾爪,偏心五通或偏心花鼓进行中心距调整。

安装

通过Krikit预紧力检测仪或我们的免费苹果应用程序调整碳纤维驱动皮带的预紧力是最合适的方式。 关于应用程序产生的建议预紧力值,请参见我们关于建议预紧力值的技术公告

碳纤维驱动齿盘的设计适用于大量市面上的齿盘和花鼓。 前齿盘包括4- 螺栓和5-曲柄螺栓。 后齿盘的设计用在Shimano、Rohloff、SRAM、enviolo、Sturmey-Archer、博世、BionX和其它品牌的产品。

在一般储存环境中,盖茨公司不建议卷曲皮带。 应将皮带保存在原始包装中,使用时再拆封。但是,若您需要携带备用皮带,可考虑将皮带适当卷曲。 注意不要损坏皮带,有关要求可通过此链接观看了解视频

护养

我们正在收集配备盖茨碳纤维驱动系统的自行车型号的规格,通过我们的网站,用户可获得关于原装配件的信息以及我们关于替换配件的建议。了解更多。

若皮带被迫紧贴齿盘的轮缘,可能会出现噪音。这可能是因为齿盘未校准、车轮未校准,或配件受损导致驱动系统故障。在皮带上喷水可使噪音停止几分钟,但永久性的应对措施是校正校准或更换受损的配件。也可能因为前齿盘松脱。在齿盘螺栓上设置螺纹锁可缓解此类问题。

在泥泞的环境中骑行时,特别是山地骑行,皮带会偶尔粘附砂砾和水,可能会出现噪音。 此类噪音不代表盖茨碳纤维驱动系统出现问题。 一般只需在骑行后用水管冲洗皮带和带轮,即可消除噪音。 若噪音持续,解决方法很简单:首先向皮带上喷水冲洗并将皮带晾干,其次在皮带齿面喷上一薄层干硅胶。 干硅胶很快变干,有助于清除砂砾,不会影响皮带的使用寿命。 我们推荐此型产品

自行车的滴答声和咔嗒声通常难以判断,因为此类声音的原因很多,咔嗒声可能是由于前齿盘松脱。在齿盘螺栓上设置螺纹锁可缓解此类问题。后齿盘和内变速花鼓间的间隙过大,也可能造成咔嗒声。盖茨公司引入了称为SureFit的新式齿盘设计,以解决此类问题。在花鼓接口粘上特氟龙胶带也可将咔嗒声消除。 

增大皮带的张力,即可解决问题。详情请咨询制造商或查阅我们的张力信息。通常跳齿不会造成皮带严重损坏;但对于强壮的骑行者,若在负荷很高时出现跳齿,应考虑更换皮带。皮带张力正常时,若出现了皮带滑动的情况,说明皮带或齿盘可能已经磨损,应更换皮带或齿盘,或同时更换皮带和齿盘。 

可靠性

根据实验室的测试显示,碳纤维驱动系统的使用寿命是链条的两倍多。链条需要经常更换,不是因为真正故障,而是因为划痕和磨损。碳纤维驱动皮带不会松弛,因此能够始终保持稳定流畅的运行性能。 

若皮带因动力从齿盘上脱落,可能会受损,建议更换新的皮带。若在山路,或其它户外环境中,重新安装皮带可能会减轻骑行负荷。请记住,若弹性线芯受损,皮带可能无法在满负荷环境中正常运行,若负荷过大还可能出现断裂。 

皮带在大多数环境中都能够发挥良好的性能,包括链条和/或变速系统可能出现问题的环境,例如有泥浆和黏土的环境。但是,在驱动系统可能堆积泥浆和黏土的严酷环境中,皮带也可能受损。在此类严酷环境中应特别注意。

CDC-MudPort齿盘具有轮缘,且轮缘具有类似防撞的功能,因此不能单独使用。轮缘位于齿盘上,以保持皮带校准正常。若将轮缘作为防撞,不仅可能损坏轮缘或齿盘,还可能损伤皮带。 

我们未发布最大额定负荷值,但盖茨碳纤维驱动系统达到或超过EN 14766工业标准,与链条驱动系统的要求相同。 

是的,您可在山地骑行时携带备用皮带。备用皮带出售时平坦固定在厚纸板包装中;不使用备用皮带时,建议将其固定在纸板上。携带时,可卷曲皮带。关于完整的说明,请观看此视频.将皮带置于窄小空间时,注意不要损坏皮带。 

虽然皮带驱动系统使用寿命比链条更长,但也需要定期检查和更换。应检查齿盘是否受损,包括是否弯折或开裂。检查皮带是否出现损坏:断裂或缺齿、齿形根部裂缝、弹性线芯边缘磨损、齿形磨损不成形。注:齿形蓝色层剥落,是新皮带磨合时的正常现象。 

不是,蓝色层磨损为皮带磨合的正常现象。根据骑行环境的不同,磨损的程度也不相同。 

碳纤维驱动皮带对化学物品呈惰性反应。用肥皂水清洗和冲洗的过程,皮带接触清洁溶剂时不会受损;但是,我们不建议将皮带长时间浸泡在清洁溶剂中。

Gates Carbon Drive

Get The FAQs

Have a question? I bet we have the answer. Take a look at the frequently asked questions and answers below. If you don’t see what you need, just contact us!

AVAILABILITY

Carbon Drive products are available from your local bike shop as well as QBP and BTI. Or, you can contact us directly:
North & South America: carbondrive@gates.com
Everywhere else: info@carbondrive.net

Gates does not recommend modifying frames as it will void the frame manufacturer's warranty and may result in personal injury or death.  The belt cannot be broken and reattached, so for a standard rear triangle, you’ll need a way to get the belt through the frame. Belts also need adjustment for installation and tensioning. Thus, the reason for a purpose-built frame.

BEFORE YOU RIDE

Multiple speeds are available through the use of internally geared hubs, gearboxes, and multi-speed bottom brackets.  Options are available from Shimano, SRAM, Rohloff, NuVinci, Sturmey Archer and others.

Clean - No Lubrication means no greasy build up of dirt, keeping your hands, clothes, and children clean. 
Smooth – The Carbon Drive system eliminates the metal-to-metal contact of chains, delivering an unparalleled smoothness that you need to feel to believe.
No Noise – The Carbon Drive belt is virtually silent in most riding conditions.
Light Weight – the entire system, 2 sprockets and a belt, weighs less than just a typical chain.
No Stretch – The Carbon Drive belt does not stretch over time like a chain. This means you don’t have to re-tension the belt, or replace the belt due to stretch. 
Self-Cleaning – The patented CenterTrack and MudPort profiles were designed specifically to shed mud, dirt, snow and other debris to meet the needs and environmental challenges of a bicycle.
Life – Testing has shown the Carbon Drive belt to last more than twice the life of chains.
Consistent Efficiency - the Carbon Drive belt provides consistent efficiency over the lifetime of the drive. In contrast, chain efficiency decreases with wear and dirt.

Because a belt cannot be broken and then reattached, the Carbon Drive System requires a belt-compatible frame. A belt also needs center distance adjustment for installation and proper tensioning. Methods include horizontally adjustable dropouts, eccentric bottom brackets, or eccentric hubs.

INSTALLATION

The best way to tension the Carbon Drive belt is to use our Krikit tension gauge or our free iPhone app.  Tension recommendations by application can be found in our Tension Recommendations Technical Bulletin.

Carbon Drive sprockets have been engineered to fit on many stock cranks and hubs.  Front sprockets include both 4-bolt and 5-bolt cranks.  Rear sprockets have been designed to fit Shimano, Rohloff, SRAM, NuVinci, Sturmey-Archer, Bosch, BionX and others.

For general storage, Gates does not recommend coiling.  It is best to leave the belt in its original packaging until ready to use. However, if you want to carry a spare belt with you, proper coiling is an option.  Care should be taken not to damage the belt, please watch this video.

MAINTENANCE

The belt can make noise when forced to run hard against the flanges on the sprockets. This can be due to sprocket misalignment, wheel misalignment, or run out in the drive caused by damaged components. Spraying water on the belt may quiet the drive for a few minutes, but the permanent solution is to correct the alignment or replace the damaged components. Another possible source of noise is a loose front sprocket. Using thread lock on the sprocket bolts alleviates this problem.

In some cases, the noise can occur when riding in dirty conditions, particularly when mountain biking if grit and water temporarily stick to the belt.  This noise in no way indicates a problem with your Gates Carbon Drive.  In most cases simply hosing off the belt and pulleys after a ride will end the noise.  If noise persists, the solution is simple: spray the belt with water, wait for it to dry, and apply a thin coating of dry silicone spray to the tooth side of the belt.  Dry silicone dries instantly, helps shed grit, and does not affect the longevity of the belt.  We recommend this product.

Ticking and clicking noises on bikes are often difficult to diagnose because they can come from a myriad of sources. A possible source of clicking can be from a loose front sprocket. Use thread lock on the sprocket bolts to alleviate this problem. A second source of clicking might come from too much clearance between the rear sprocket and an internally geared hub. Gates has introduced a new sprocket design called SureFit to address this concern. Alternatively, applying Teflon tape to the hub interface has been found to eliminate the clicking noise. 

Increasing the belt tensions should correct this problem. Consult the bicycle manufacturer's recommendations or our tensioning information for details. Normally tooth jump does not cause significant belt damage; however, strong riders who jump teeth at very high loads might consider replacing the belt. Belt slipping with proper tension could be a symptom of belt or sprocket wear and could be a sign that one or both need to be replaced. 

RELIABILITY

In laboratory testing, the Carbon Drive System lasts more than twice the life of a chain. Chains are often replaced due to scratch and wear rather than actual failure. The Carbon Drive belt does not stretch, so the smooth running performance remains consistent throughout its life. 

When a belt comes off of the sprockets under power, it has likely been damaged and replacement is recommended. If you are on the trail, or away from home, reinstalling the belt may get you back under light load. Keep in mind, if the tensile cords are damaged, the belt may not be able to handle full load, and make break if subjected to any significant loading. 

The belt performs very well in most conditions, including conditions where chains and/or derailleurs have problems, such as mud and clay. However, in severe conditions where mud and clay can build up on the drive, there is a chance that you could damage the belt. Caution should be used in these severe conditions.

While the front CDC-MudPort sprocket does have a flange that resembles a bash guard, it should not be used as one. The flange is located on the sprocket to keep the belt aligned. If you use the flange as a bash guard, not only might you damage the flange or the sprocket, it's likely you may damage the belt as well. 

While we don't publish a maximum load rating, the Gates Carbon Drive System meets or exceeds the EN 14766 industry standard, the same requirements for chain drive systems. 

Yes, you can carry a spare belt with you out on the trail. The spare belts are sold flat and attached to a cardboard package; it is recommended that you keep the belt attached to the board when not in use. To carry one with you, the belt can be coiled. Please watch this video for complete instructions. Take care not to damage the belt in an attempt to pack it into a tight space. 

While you can expect extended life from your belt drive compared to chain, regular inspection and replacement intervals are still encouraged. Sprockets should be inspected for damage such as bending or cracks. Inspect your belt for: broken or missing teeth, cracks at the base of teeth, fraying tensile cords, mis-shaped worn teeth. Note: Flaking off of the blue layer on the teeth is a normal part of break-in for a new belt. 

No, the blue layer wear is a normal part of belt break-in. Depending on the environment you ride in, it may be more or less noticeable. 

Please read the complete warranty in the Owner's Manual.

The Carbon Drive Belt has very good chemical resistance. Contact with cleaning solutions due to soaping and rinsing should not cause any damage; however, it's not recommended to soak the belt for any significant amount of time.